The 2013 & 2014 Randall Jarrell Prize in Poetry

For two years running, AMP has won the Randall Jarrell Prize in Poetry, sponsored by the N.C. Writers’ Network, for an individual poem. In 2013, Gabriel Spera judged; the winning poem, “The Ladder,” will be the title poem of AMP’s next collection, to be published by Tupelo Press in 2015. In 2014, the judge was Jillian Weise, for a poem entitled “Lights Out in the Chinese Restaurant.”

The Randall Jarrell Prize in Poetry includes a $200 award and publication in storySouth. AMP is the first two-time winner of the award in its history.

Here’s “The Ladder.”